KoreaTown: A cook book review

Koreatown: By Deuki Hong & Matt Rodbard                  9780804186131

As you can tell I love food and I love trying other cultural foods that I can make in my own kitchen, though it never quite measures up to the real thing. However, I still try and will perfect those foods someday. One of my favorites to experiment with is different authentic Asian styles. This usually gets me in trouble when I can’t find the ingredients and have to substitute with other randomly picked ingredients from the fridge or cabinets. When Koreatown popped up on my list of books that I could review I jumped at the chance, well after figuring out what the book even was due to a really bad cover design; not to start off negatively.

PicsArt_02-07-07.26.37

When I got the book in the mail I was expecting just a plain Korean cookbook, nothing special especially for having a really bad book cover. I was pleasantly surprised to find out this cook book is actually fantastic. I could spend quite some time just flipping through the pages alone. The book mixes food and Korean culture. Not only does it have some great recipes, but gorgeous photos of the food, or what it should look like. The little details I love about this cook book is the fact that along with the English translation of the name of the dish it has the Korean name and how it is written. Throughout the book it has little tips and tricks of preparation (i.g. How to cook Korean food at home without pissing off your neighbors. Page 110) tidbits of Korean restaurant lifestyles, and even interviews with foodies. I was particularly ecstatic when I found on page 94 a lovely sketched picture of someone curiously familiar with the title above saying ‘Eating Korea with Linkin Park’s DJ Joe Hahn.’ Oh yes! Any cook book that gives me a peak at the palate of a member of one of my teenage favorite bands I am in! Reading the page about Joe Hahn was pretty flipping great!

20160207_192433

Now about the food; I have yet to actually fix up any of the meals in this cook book because I would have to make a special trip to Koreatown to find the ingredients, but I am looking forward to experimenting with it.PicsArt_02-07-07.27.05

Moving onto the cover design…well yeah. At first glance you will become a bit confused by the title Kor-Eat-Own, but after flipping to the spine you’ll find that it is Korea Town. I am not sure what they were thinking when designing the cover, but I was slightly disturbed thinking it was something cannibalistic. So needless to say I was not impressed by the cover picture though that was the only negative. The details and depth of this cook book and what it has to offer far outweighs the terrible cover design.

If you are it the mood for something with a little more spice I would very much recommend this cook book for you.

P.S. I almost forgot! Another completely awesome feature is the blurb at the front of the cook book by none other than Anthony Bourdain. My television old man crush. *Swoon*

20160207_192320

 

“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”

You can check out the cook book here.

Also, you can read more about the author here.

Leave a Reply

